What Can You Do But Laugh? First Oil Painting Of A New Series

Hello again art lovers!

I hope all is well in your worlds.

I’m so excited.  I recently finished up the first oil painting of a new series.  I’ve been thinking on the series for some time now.  My wife bought a clown nose from Walgreens for Red Nose Day, a charity that helps children in poverty. I painted a watercolor about a week later that got the ball rolling, but with these type of creative endeavors, the concepts take time to grow, morph and multiply into something tangible.

ckirk_twinine_b

 In last week’s blog post, I shared some of the early charcoal pastel/oil stick studies.  The studies were really helpful in the development.  I can’t wait to see how they’ll translate into oil paint.

IMG_0009

I like the way the first piece translated.  As you can see below, the color is vivid, the paint is thick and the pallette knife and brush work is a laugh,  Speaking of laughter, I’m sure you’ve noticed that laughter is the theme.  I figure laughing could be the best remedy, especially when things are greasy, crazy and tits up.  Anyway, I don’t have the artist’s statement worked out yet, but there’s no rush.  I hope you enjoy the upcoming pieces in the “Kakhati” series.

ckirk_kakhati_one_b

To see other recently completed pastel studies and my current selection of work in watercolor, oil, mixed media, ect, please visit my website ckirkart.com.

Until next timehave a great week.

ckirk4

CKirk

⇑⊕ ckirkart.com ⊕⇓ 

2 thoughts on “What Can You Do But Laugh? First Oil Painting Of A New Series

Leave a Reply

