The Dr. Seuss/Cookie Monster Feel Contrasts With Esoteric Knowledge.

Hello again art lovers,

I hope you’ve all had a great week and are as excited about Fall as I am!

I’ve been really going at it lately.  Currently, I have three new “Behold The Son Of GRID” pieces finished.  I plan to feature one of the allegorical paintings a week until I run out.  Hopefully by then, I’ll have more work to show.  This week’s featured piece is titled Apoko-Lips#23 – Behold The Son Of GRID #4.   It was created with watercolor, acrylic, graphite, ballpoint pen, micron pen, transfer pencil, colored pencil & collage.  I really like how the Dr. Seuss/Cookie Monster feel contrast with the esoteric knowledge that’s scribbled onto the background.

ckirk_twentythree_b

ckirk_twentythree_header

Apoko-Lips#23 – Behold The Son Of GRID (Detail)

After going through the laundry list of mediums I’ve been using to create these new works of art, I think I’ll elaborate on the collage areas a little.  A handful of people have asked about the contents of the collage pieces.  Basically, what I’ve done is slather black face paint on and then take high-resolution photos that can be enlarged to any size with out loosing resolution.  Next, I decide upon some symbolic ornaments for the face and create the pieces from construction paper.  Afterward these ornaments are scanned at high-resolution also, and I begin arranging them in a study like the one shown below.  After the painting part is complete and most importantly, dry, the decorated head/heads or collage into the work.

hadstepcrbl_one

Apoko-Lips Barbarous Names – HAD-STEP-CRBL (Study)

hadstepcrbl_stuff

HAD-STEP-CRBL Ornaments of horns/light bulb 

I hope you enjoyed the new piece.  If you are interested in this work, other additions to Apoko-Lips, or earlier works of art, feel free to visit my website and contact me.  I’ll be happy to help.  

As always, keep an eye out for a new blog post next Wednesday.  I’ll be featuring a new work of art (Detail below) and possibly a little insight into the piece.

ckirk_twentyfour_profile

Until next time, have a great week!

ckirk_twentyone_profile

Ckirk

ckirkart.com

Leave a Reply

