A New “Cuddly” Portrait of The Artist As Mythological Sex Machine

Hello again art lovers,

I hope all is well with you.

I’ve been having fun when able.

I said a few months ago that it was about time for me to revisit my theme of “Artist As Mythological Sex Machine”.  After a few botched attempts, I’ve finally came up with a composition that I’m happy with, and it fits nicely into my new Apoko-Lips “Behold The Son Of GRID” art works.  The image below is a continuation on the above mentioned theme.

I tossed just about everything but the kitchen sink into this composition.  Watercolor, acrylic, transfer pencil, graphite, colored pencil, ballpoint pen, and micron pen were used.  Painting mediums aside, I also shot the photography for the collage elements and put together the costumes and face paint.  I used construction paper for the horns and heart above the love god’s head.

I particularly like how the centaur’s body appears to have a cuddly, plush-like texture.

ckirk_twentytwo_b

Apoko-Lips#22 – Behold The Son Of GRID #3, 2015

As I mentioned above, the new art work is a continuation of a theme.   Considering this, I uploaded some of the earlier versions that I’ve created over the years below.  Maybe you will enjoy seeing how this idea has developed since its original inception.

mythological_sexmachine

“Portrait Of The Artist As Mythological Sex Machine #3, Watercolor & collage on card, 2013

horse_cock

Portrait Of The Artist As Mythological Sex Machine #2 AKA “Horse Cock”, watercolor on paper, 2012

Scanned Image2-3

“Portrait Of The Artist As Mythological Sex Machine #1 “Study”, ballpoint pen on card, 2011

I hope you enjoyed taking a look at the development of this theme.  I did.  If you like my newest piece, or the works featured in last weeks blog post, I think you’ll enjoy what’s coming up in future posts.  Each of the Apoko-Lips – Behold The Son Of GRID works feature a different, functional deity in watercolor and a declaration from the Son Of GRID.  

ckirk_twentythree_header

As always, be sure to check in next Wednesday to see my newest piece of art and if you would like to see more of my work, click the link to my website below.

ckirk_twentyone_profile

Until next time, have a great week.

CKirk

ckirkart.com

Leave a Reply

