Back To One Of My True Loves, WATERCOLOR!

Hello again art lovers,

I hope you are all doing great!

The Autumnal Equinox began only a handful of hours ago.  The event is a great time to take stock, throw out what hasn’t worked, then further utilize and develop what has.  This year, I took the opportunity to get an early start on this process.

As I mentioned in last weeks blog, I’ve been experimenting with the “Packaging” of my ideas.  This exhaustive experimentation finally led me back to one of my true loves.  Watercolor.  I feel so awesome right now.  I just finished up two new pieces, one of which has a HEAVY WATERCOLOR element.  Anyone who has followed this blog for any length of time might remember that in 2013, I made a slew of KICK-ASS watercolors that made up a series titled “Art Is My Way Of Chucking Civilization Out The Window“.  The watercolors were probably the most popular works of art I have ever made.  I’m not sure if their popularity was due to the loose, splashy technique, or because I was drunk while painting them and locked in lower brain circuits, and experiencing a left brain centered imbalance which would naturally appeal to the masses.  I suppose  it doesn’t matter.

Anyway, as I’m sure you’ve gathered, I’m really excited.  After a six moth break from making art in mid 2014, I picked the watercolors up again, only to be disappointed that I couldn’t utilize them the way I had before.  I decided to put the my old pan set away and chalked the failure up to my not being inebriated on a daily basis anymore.  That being said, it’s been about a year since my botched attempts,  and finally, I decided to grab the watercolors from my storage closet and give it another shot.  I’m very pleased with the results!  I also used watercolor, acrylic, graphite, micron pen, ballpoint pen, transfer pencil, varnish, glue & collage to create the work.

The new piece is titled

“Apoko-Lips#20 – Behold The Son Of GRID #2 – Do not make war with your dragon”

ckirk_twentyone_b

If that wasn’t enough to make my week, I also created another experimental piece prior to the one above.  I used watercolor in it, but primarily acrylic and spray paint.  It is titled

“Apoko-Lips#20 – Behold The Son Of GRID #1 – Do not make deals with deities”

ckirk_twenty_b

Until next time, have a great week!

ckirk_twentyone_profile

Ckirk

ckirkart.com

Leave a Reply

