Think Pokemon Meets Nine Inch Nails & You Have A Hell Of A Correlation

Hello again dear readers,

I’m just stopping in to share the newest edition to my ongoing series APOKO-LIPS.  The piece is a rework of yet another piece I did early this year.  I reused a little of the same imagery but I added quite a bit and pretty much flipped it on its head to make it more literal.  I had my son make his hardest GANGSTA face while snapping a dozen photos.  I also used a shot of a Charizard figurine for the new composition.  I won’t go into much detail about what the piece means for me, but I’m sure you’ll form your own ideas about the art.

That being said, I posted the new angst-riddled, Pokemon themed work below along with the previous incarnation and a video where I made an attempt to capture the essence of the ideas behind the work.

burn_charizard_sub_b

Acrylic, emulsion, oil pastel, micron pen, ballpoint pen, graphite and Elmer’s glue on watercolor paper, 2014

burnit_down

The piece above is a previous incarnation.  I guess the ideas weren’t through bouncing around in my head just yet.

And now for the fun part!

Oh, I almost forgot.  

Before I go, I wanted to let you folks know, I still have a handful of the super sexy “Naked Lunch” limited editions available.  The high quality print is a small edition of 10 and so grab one while you can.  to visit my shop, just click here.

Until next time,

Ckirk

ckirkart.com

Leave a Reply

