No Topless Models Where Injured + The Artist Kicking The Shit Out Of Cars

Hello again dear readers,

The latest edition to my ongoing series APOKO-LIPS is finished.  It’s a rework of a theme I’ve played around with a bit already.  I’ve been getting things together for the new website I’m building and realized that I just wasn’t happy with the theme’s previous incarnations.  The piece is titled “Portrait Of The Artist Kicking The Shit Out Of Cars #4”.  The piece is pretty self-explanatory, so I won’t go into much detail about how it came to be.  The expression of frustration in this work can be interchangeable and chances are, you can project your own frustrations into the composition.

ckirking_cars_sub_b

Acrylic, emulsion, micron pen, ballpoint pen, graphite, oil pastel and Elmer’s glue on watercolor paper, 2014

In other news, I’ve been pretty busy shooting models and putting together new compositions for APOKO-LIPS.  One is another rework of a previous Pokemon themed piece titled “Burn It Down Charizard, Burn It All Down”.  Think Pokemon meets Nine Inch Nails.  I also just took photos for another Yves Klein inspired piece that will be a set of triptychs.  The shoot was at a rich gun nut’s house and thankfully, he had plenty of props and chunk laying around.

I’ve already started work on the paint-covered topless pieces and thankfully, I’m a better painter/designer than I am a photographer.

IMG_9773_small

IMG_9781_small

IMG_9785_small

IMG_9790_detail

10733618_10203147482832364_1999529214_n

While we were at it, I took photos for another piece I had in mind, but sadly I don’t think it’s going to work out.  The outlandish costumes reminded me of a Primus video but that’s not the reason.  We started with the swimming pool scene and ended it with it, but by the time I slung paint across the buxom models chest, it was getting dark and the final photos didn’t come out so great.  It’s possible that I’ll be able to edit them in way were the final photos will be usable, but I doubt it.  None the less, I wanted to share at least one of them below.

IMG_9770

Until next time,

Ckirk

ckirkart.com

Leave a Reply

