I’m A Thief And A Shitkicker, And, Uh, I’d Like To Be Famous

Hello again dear readers,

I hope everyone had a good weekend.

I did.  I was pretty busy.  I finished up a few pieces I’d been working on for a while.  I also picked up a very interesting commission recently and acquired the imagery for the upcoming work over the last few days.  I’m now tasked to produce a composition featuring and focusing on five separate vaginas.

I’ll post some photos when the commission is complete.

In other news, I decided a while back that I wanted to reproduce a few of my minotaur as avatar-themed pieces from 2013.  The original three that I presented to the world were watercolors.  Two sold quickly, so I only have one left. I suppose the concepts aren’t through bouncing around in my head just yet because the new, reworked pieces simply HAVE to be part of my ongoing series “Apoko – Lips”.

Anyway, like Picasso, I’ve always been fascinated with Ovid’s minotaur from Greek mythology but I’m not sure how important the bull-headed creature actually is to the composition.  I feel like the idea embodied in the work could be more important.   Speaking of, the concept behind the painting “One Day There Will Be Theme Music Everywhere I Go” reminds me of

Devine’s line from the John Waters Film “Female Trouble”.

The line is

“I’m a thief and a shitkicker, and, uh, I’d like to be famous.”

8470674147_f568242165_b

Picasso wearing his minotaur mask.

That being said, the original 2013 piece was created using only watercolor and micron pen.  The current reworking was came to fruition by way of acrylic, emulsion, micron pen, oil pastel and Elmer’s glue, but photography played a huge role, as it always does with all my new “Apoko-Lips” pieces.  Without shooting the photographs of my pose, my paint covered pallet and the green oil paint smeared across canvas, it wouldn’t be the same.  I also made a composite from a handful of re appropriated photos to create the balloons and boom boxes.

 The original was extremely popular.  It was even selected for The Bombay Sapphire Artisan Series last year.  The event was held in the African-American Museum in Dallas, Texas.  You’d think the piece’s popularity would’ve cast a huge cloud of doubt in my brain when I first decided to recreate it, but fortunately it didn’t.  I posted the insanely popular 2013 version of “One Day There Will Be Theme Music Everywhere I Go” and the current embodiment of the concept below.

I hope the new version is received as well as the original but who knows if it will be?  I sent an image of the new painting to the collector that purchased the original and he fucking loved it!  He’s attracted to the “Explosive” quality the 2014 version exudes.

minotaurcombo_one

“One Day There Will Be Theme Music Everywhere I Go” 2013

theme_music

“One Day There Will Be Theme Music Everywhere I Go” 2014

Feel free to let me know which version you like better and why.

Until next time,

Ckirk

ckirkart.com

Leave a Reply

