Unfortunately Young Earth Creationists Are So Easy To Ridicule, I Did It Unwittingly

Hello again dear readers,

It’s been a busy week and a half for me.  I received my test print for the limited edition of “Naked Lunch” and which is on sale now.  To help with supplies, I decided to have a Facebook Fall Sale on work made prior to this year and finally, I finished up a new piece of art.  Well, it’s more of a study really.  Most of the new mixed media emulsion pieces are studies because I plan to recreate a selection of the works on a larger scale.

IMG_9706

Sorting through works trying to select studies for enlargement.

That being said,

the new piece was created after reaching a personal goal I set 4 months ago.  I wanted to do a piece to celebrate and there’s much less hangover with art than booze.  It falls in line with the “Portrait Of The Artist Kicking The Shit Out Of Cars” pieces except instead of cars; it’s a T-Rex.

Fortunately, I had unintentionally done most of the photography earlier this year.   I had photos of my son’s Schleich T-Rex figurine and myself on file already.  I only needed to photograph the loaded barbell at the right angle, so I was able to put together the composition for this cartoonish work much faster than most of the works I’ve created this year.

 I made this piece for fun and without any conceptual forethougth but later realized it poked fun at young Earth creationists.  Apparently the group is so easy to ridicule that I did it unwittingly.  Whoops.

Take a look at the image below.   Yes, I know it’s absurd but so is life.  Maybe you’ll like it anyway. 

ckirk_trex

Currently untitled,

Size yet to be determined,

Acrylic, watercolor, micron pen, ballpoint pen, graphite, emulsion & Elmer’s glue on watercolor paper, 2014

Until next time,

ckirk

ckirkart.com

Leave a Reply

