Hordes Of Dallas Art Collectors Are Purchasing My Work Again?

Hello again dear readers,

This could be a very self-absorbed entry, so I’ll apologize in advance .

I haven’t been exhibiting my art in galleries this year.  I go through these periods from time to time, I guess mainly because I’m concentrating on other aspects of art.  In most cases, including this one, the lack of more personal public presentation can be chalked up to creative experimentation, research and learning.

However, I have recently become interested in exhibiting my work in Dallas again.  Not often, just once or twice a year.  I have only shown publicly in the city twice since 2010, for different reasons.  The first being that in 2010, I decided to concentrate  on reaching a global audience and collector base.  I have been fortunate because it actually happened pretty quickly and has continued. I now have hundreds of pieces hung in collections literally all over the world.  Thanks to a couple of extremely loyal and supportive collectors, the areas with the largest collections are probably in New York and London.

Thank you for your continued support.

While it is great in many ways, unfortunately, all the global concentration not to mention becoming a new father, left little time to maintain a presence or relationships in Dallas.  That being said, maybe a little too boastfully, I did show in Dallas twice last year.  I was selected for the Red Bull Canvas Curates last year.  The event was held at the “Life” building in Deep Ellum.  A few months later in 2013, I exhibited at the African-American Museum as a part of the Bombay Sapphire Artisan Series.  Most of the artists I encountered were younger artists a little newer to the scene, but I did run into a handful of the guys I used to exhibit with.  It was really great to see them.  I’ve been trying to stay in contact since the events.

Anyway, I’ll get back to the point of this blog entry.  Like I mentioned above, the vast majority of my sales in the last four years have come from every where but Dallas.  However, I have noticed a significant amount of recent sales that have come from local Dallas art collectors almost exclusively.  I’d say the number is currently around 80% Dallas buyers this year.

I’m not sure why this is occurring but if this trend continues and I can find the right Dallas based gallery to present my work with, I will be doing so.

10704898_10152448887204790_1784076067_n

“Epoh” created in 2012,was the most recent sale to a repeat Dallas-based collector.

None of this will probably matter to the majority of my readers, collectors, and friends as most of you are not residents of the city but this is something I’ve been milling over for a little while now and decided to put it out into the world to see what happens.  I also wanted to give a shout out to my new and repeat Dallas art collectors.

Thank you for the continued support.

Until next time,

ckirk

ckirkart.com

Leave a Reply

