Diptychs & Triptychs – Don’t blame me, I recently watched a Francis Bacon documentary & occasionally listen to Lou Reed

Hello again everyone,

I finally decided how to use some of the watercolor sketchbook pieces I completed the last time I was in Los Angeles.  These works were not previously available because I wanted to keep the sketchbook “Ckirk Dear Diary 2013” whole, but I finally said, “Fuck it”, and that’s how this all came about.  Anyway, the works I mentioned are part of an autobiographical theme I came up with called “Off to Hollywood”.  In fact, most of my work is autobiographical in some way or other, but that doesn’t matter.  Some of you readers may remember my last L.A adventure, but I seriously doubt it considering the modern-day epidemic of smart phones, short attention spans and bad memories.  Don’t blame yourself though, it wasn’t that important and what can one blogger expect in the age of the 24 hour new cycle.

That being said, I hope you enjoy these diptychs & triptychs.  If not, don’t be too hard on me….I recently watched a Francis Bacon documentary and occasionally listen to Lou Reed.   

some_people

“Some people are just assholes”

Three 5 x 8″ sheets, watercolor on sketchbook paper, 2013

tony_castro

“Tony Castro”

Three 5 x 8″ sheets, watercolor, ballpoint pen, & graphite on sketchbook paper, 2013 – 2014

to_hollywood

“Off to Hollywood”

Two 5 x 8″ sheets, watercolor, ballpoint pen, & graphite on sketchbook paper, 2013 – 2014

Until next time,

ckirk

ckirkart.com

Leave a Reply

