One day I’m going to take all of your selfies and do something really nasty with them

Hello again everyone,

I was recently contacted by a young art student in Northampton.  For her project, she’s studying up on different artists who do well at infusing emotion into their portrait work.  I always respond and do what I can to answer questions posed to me by students. As we corresponded about capturing emotion in portraiture, I noticed how much my personal interests have  changed since the last time a young artist reached out for a project.

I’ll explain what I mean.  I worked on some watercolor & oil portraits about a month ago to get back into the practice of painting.  They came out really well and in my opinion, look excellent.   The problem is, I found the actual process incredibly boring and uninspiring. I still enjoy looking at and appreciating portraiture, but it’s gotten to where painting them isn’t very much fun anymore. I have worked on a few  portraits since then but I’ve been trying to have more fun and have quit worrying so much about the technical issues of things being the right size and in the correct place.  I never figured I’d see the day when I lost interest in painting realism but  maybe it’s just a phase I’m going though. Who knows?

Either way, I’ve never hesitated to change when the life of my art depended on it.

My art has changed quite a bit over time.  It was usually altered as my technical abilities became more advanced or I learned something new but there were a few instances, namely my 2013 watercolors, that I just decided to let loose and toss technique out the window.  My sketchbooks have also provided that type of freedom, though my current sketchbook is filled more with ideas than actual drawings. I’ve also recently taken up printmaking again and abandoned drawing all together where this type of work is concerned.  Could the prints be transformed into beautiful oil paintings…of course, but why bother.  Sculpture has also been on the menu for about the last year, but unfortunately, I haven’t been able to get back around to that medium just yet.

I guess the point I’m trying to get around to is… I’m happy to be in an experimental growth period again.  Growth isn’t always comfortable but I suppose it’s necessary from time to time.  I guess I could have just said that instead of typing the three paragraphs above but I like to write to.

So anyway,  if you’re still up to it after the long read, give the oil pastels below a look.

 

IMG_9407

Untitled, oil pastel in sketchbook, 2014

hashtag_one

“#givemeallyourfuckingmoneynow”

 14″ x 17″, oil pastel & acrylic emulsion on 100lb acid-free bristol vellum, 2014

hard_content

“It’s getting harder and harder to find good content”

14″ x 17″, oil pastel, mineral spirits, acrylic & graphite on 100lb acid-free bristol vellum, 2014

nasty_selfies

“One day I’m going to take all of your selfies and do something really nasty with them”

14″ x 17″, oil pastel, mineral spirits & graphite on 100lb acid-free bristol vellum, 2014

Until next time,

ckirk

ckirkart.com

2 thoughts on “One day I’m going to take all of your selfies and do something really nasty with them

Leave a Reply

