The Cooz Who Broke The Internet & other new works

Hello again everyone,

I hope anyone who celebrated the 4th of July had a great time.  I myself stayed indoors and worked the holiday away.  As you know, I took some time off this year and in an attempt to get back into my groove, I’ve been playing around with different mediums to see what fits.  Some of the experimentation has simply been returning to a medium like charcoal, that I haven’t used in years while other exercises have involved working with a medium like oil past that I’ve rarely made use of.  I’ve also been utilizing the ol’ ballpoint pen in sketchbook routine again as well as making mixed media transfer prints.

I think I’ve enjoyed the oil pastel undertakings the most.  I can make the pastel look like paint but I get do most of the work with my fingers.  I enjoy pushing and smearing the pastel around the work surface.  Below are photos of the eclectic fruits of my labor.  I hope you enjoy them.

IMG_9461

Untitled work in progress,  14 x 17″, oil pastel on 100lb acid-free bristol vellum, 2014

IMG_9382

“Good habits”, ballpoint pen & charcoal in sketchbook, 2014

IMG_9406

“The Cooz Who Broke The Internet”, 11 x 8 1/2″, oil pastel, acrylic, & transfer on 150lb acid-free card, 2014

Untitled-1

“I Want To Make Sculpture” ballpoint pen in sketchbook, 2014

IMG_9405

“Study for portrait of the artist kicking the shit out of cars”,

8 1/2 x 11″ oil pastel, charcoal tape & transfer on 150lb acid-free card, 2014

Until next time,

ckirk

ckirkart.com

Leave a Reply

