Finally Making Use Of the Reference Photos I’ve Hoarded Over The Last Few Years

Hi everyone,

I’m back again after another painting session.  I figured I’d better paint something other than a dwarf this time around.  After all, I’d hate to get trapped in a niche.  That being said, I started searching through the hundreds of reference photos I’ve hoarded since 2010 and found a very expressive female face to paint and I’m pleased with the way the portrait turned out.  It’s an oil portrait with very loose brush stokes. I paid attention to detail, but avoided going too tight and painted it rather quickly.  Again, I went over one of the abstract expressionist works given to me a couple of years ago by a friend for just that purpose.

Anyway, check out the new oil below and feel free to comment if you’d like.

ohshit_sharpened

Untitled portrait

30″ x 22 1/2″, oil & primer on recycled watercolor paper, 2014

I’m not adding these new portraits to my website right away, but for pricing information about the piece above, 

please email me at info@ckirkart.com

Until next time,

ckirk

ckirkart.com

 

Leave a Reply

