The process is kind of like restarting with an old girlfriend and trying to remember how she likes it

Hey everybody,

I’m back again after a painting session and some serious screwing around.  I’m still trying to get back into the swing of things but I’ve noticed, after months of not painting, my watercolors look more like oils.  I guess that’s because oil was the last medium I worked with extensively.  Anyway, I’m trying to reacquaint myself with the watercolor techniques  that I used so feverishly in the past.  I’ve been reminded that watercolor is a completely different monster than oil.  The process is kind of like restarting with an old girlfriend and trying to remember how she likes it.

That being said, I’m also looking into some techniques that I’ve never really made use of.

Anyway, I’m still getting my feet wet with portraits before diving too much into creativity or composition.  Here is the second watercolor painting, that in my opinion, looks a little too much like oil.  The figure also came out a little more exaggerated than I had planned, but I figured I’d share it anyway.

Feel free to let me know what you think.

IMG_9230

“They say it takes more energy to frown”

11 x 15″, watercolor on 140lb acid-free watercolor paper, 2014

Until next time,

ckirk

ckirkart.com

Leave a Reply

