Prime Art Inhibitor

Hello all,

It’s been five or six months since I’ve painting anything.  The move to my new location certainly slowed me down, but I’d guess that getting a little too immersed in my hobbies was probably the prime art inhibitor.  After painting nonstop for almost three years, I have to admit that it was nice to step away for a while.  Over the last few months, I have thought a lot about the art I would like to make.  I have some ideas for sculpture and painting as well, but nothing is set in stone.  I figured I’d start off small and do some portraiture to shake off a bit of the rust that’s built up over the last five or six months.  

I started the portrait below a few days ago and I think I actually finished it yesterday.  We’ll see I guess.  Anyway, the painting is 11 x 15″ on 14olb acid-free watercolor paper.  I used watercolor, acrylic and latex to create the piece.  I let my 4-year-old son Luke draw and write all over the background with common crayon.  He did venture into the fleshy areas once, distorting the color in one area, but fortunately I was able to rub it out for the most part.

I haven’t titled the piece yet, but here it is anyway.  Feel free to comment if you’d like.

IMG_9207

Until next time,

ckirk

ckirkart.com

Leave a Reply

