Say what you want about Damien Hirst or Jeff Koons

Hello again,

Say what you want about Damien Hirst or Jeff Koons, but given the lethargic state I’ve been in lately, I’ve considered using art fabricators to create my work.  Sadly, I don’t think I could afford the service at the moment.  I have several new collage/studies put together for upcoming oil paintings and several more scribbled down that have yet to be made.  I haven’t began painting any of them yet, but it’s been a busy week of experimentation with printmaking.  I’ve played around with the photo emulsion methods made famous by Robert Rauschenberg and also gel transfers.  I like the emulsion but too many of the tones are lost for a color junkie like myself.  Gel transfers are cool and retain the various tones I lost with emulsion, but unless you’re really careful…random areas of the image can be lost.  Loosing parts of the image is alright if you want a distressed look, but that’s really not what I’ve been after.

I was hoping to find a way to bask in laziness and abandon oil painting for a while, but considering the results of my experiments…. it looks like that’s not happening right now..not if I want the best possible representations of my ideas.  Don’t get me wrong, I like the way the experiments in printmaking came out.  I’m still doing some tests and may even incorporate printmaking into my paintings to add another element, but I think oil is my best bet of copying my collage studies and capturing the vivid color and various tones within them.

Say what you want about Damien Hirst or Jeff Koons, but given the lethargic state I’ve been in lately, I’ve considered using art fabricators to create my work.  Sadly, I don’t think I could afford it at the moment.  

Anyway, there’s a few of my experiments below.

sexy_symbiotes

“Sexy Symbiotes aka What If Brazzers Existed In The Marvel Universe”
11 x 8 1/2″, emulsion & gel transfer on 150lb acid – free card, 2014

sample_one

“Transfer”

11 x 8 1/2″, gel transfer on 150lb acid – free card, 2014

aries_transfer_two

“In dreams I reenact the helicopter scene from Rambo II, only in a much more imaginative and indescriminate way”, size yet to be determined, emulsion on 140lb. acid – free bristol, 2014

flying_transfer

“Flying Minotaur #1”,

size yet to be determined, emulsion on 140lb. acid – free bristol, 2014

newgods_transfer

“New Gods”

 size yet to be determined, emulsion on 140lb. acid – free bristol, 2014

Until next time,

ckirk

ckirkart.com

Leave a Reply

