Sculpting Again After 5 Years Away From The Medium

Hi all,

As those of you who regularly read my blog know, I have had several commission this year already.  I’m proud to say that I have completed all but one of those pieces.  I still have a very fun charcoal drawing to finish, but it should be done next week.  I have said to myself for about the last 3 or 4 weeks (Probably longer), that once I get my commission finished, I would like to develop some of my current themes into sculpture.  Well, I cheated a bit.  Today while I was looking after my son, I broke out my old oil based clay and tools (That hasn’t been touched in oh…about 5 years) and decided to play around a bit.  I’m happy with what I came up with…though the sculptures were more for practice than anything else.  I’m looking forward to casting a little and working with straw, plaster, paper mache and various other forms of sculpture again.

Anyway, I figured I’d share a few photos of the oil based clay sculptures I toyed around with today.

IMG_6841

IMG_6842

IMG_6843

A new spin on Ben Grimm (The Thing of The Fantastic 4)

IMG_6835

An old “Codger” clay version (Without a reference photo) of my Re Imaging Gozer painting

Until next time,

ckirk

ckirkart.com

4 thoughts on “Sculpting Again After 5 Years Away From The Medium

  1. Just getting into some sculpture stuff myself, been working with sculpting wax going to possibly cast it into aluminum at a local college some time soon. I think its a nice refreshing thing,instead of just painting and drawing stuff.

    1. Cool man. Sound fun. Wish I had the resources a collage would have to offer. Good luck with the aluminum and thanks for the comment Michael.

      1. Not sure where you are location wise but any local school would prob love to help you, I don’t attend any classes anywhere or anything, in fact i only have a high school equivalent thingy. Np on the comment I didnt mean to come off as a d-bag, i really hope i didnt!

Leave a Reply

