Studies For Upcoming Oils Done While Recovering From Back Injury

Hi again,

Last week I REALLY hurt my back.  Nothing drastic happened.  Just bent over to wash my hands in the sink.  Its an old wrestling injury that rears its ugly head from time to time.  Anyway, the injury kept me out of the studio and basically, I just laid on a bean bag in the floor for 3 days.  I’m like a shark who needs to keep swimming though, so I have trouble doing nothing.  Anyway, I used the recovery time wisely.  I created a handful of studies for upcoming oils using the miracles of photography and Photoshop.  These studies are mostly for composition and planning.  They’re very clean and crisp, but it’s good to have my general ideas laid out before I actually start painting.  Once I put paint to canvas, these upcoming oils will be much dirtier and the figures will have more texture.  Take a look at some of the studies below.

"The Dynamic Duo"

“The Dynamic Duo”

"Its Like Having A Gun you Can Pet #5"

“Its Like Having A Gun you Can Pet #5”

"Its Like Having A Gun You Can Pet #6"

“Its Like Having A Gun You Can Pet #6”

"Its Like Having A Gun You Can Pet #7"

“Its Like Having A Gun You Can Pet #7”

"Portrait of Artist As Mythological Sex Machine #2"

“Portrait of Artist As Mythological Sex Machine #2”

"Would You Clap For Me If I Was Friendly"

“Would You Clap For Me If I Was Friendly”

"Kitty Pi"

“Kitty Pi”

"Hello Nasty"

“Hello Nasty”

Until next time,

ckirk

ckirkart.com

Leave a Reply

