Blowing Off Steam

untitled mixed media piece

detail

detail

Hello all,

After a busy week of making absolutely no art, I had a chance to work in the studio yesterday evening and really didn’t have very high expectations.  In the previous weeks I had been working with oil on some very heavily layered portraits, but didn’t have the time during the last session to do that sort of prep work.  I was really just hoping to blow off some steam.  I was pleasantly surprised with the untitled mixed media piece that manifested.  Usually work done while blowing off steam goes into the trash bin, but I think this piece may have a future.  I might collage it into canvas, or leave it as is.  Either way, I think its a keeper..plus I used more color in the piece than I have for quite some time.

Until next time,

ckirk

ckirkart.com

2 thoughts on “Blowing Off Steam

Leave a Reply

