Two New Pieces on Builder’s Paper + Seven Minus Seven

Untitled, mixed media on Builder’s Paper, 2011

Size yet to be determined.

“Nose Bleed Section”, mixed media on Builder’s Paper, 2011

Size yet to be determined.

In the studio with new supplies courtesy of seven minus seven.

Besides completing the two LARGE scale works on Builder’s Paper shown above, I have been hanging out with my pal Clay Jones while he’s been in town.  Clay is a founding member of Seven Minus Seven, a non profit art collective in St Thomas, which is located in the US Virgin Islands.  I sent some works on paper with Clay a few months ago, and judging from the result of the show…..St Thomas islanders are ready for for urban contemporary art!

All week Clay and I have been taking care of business.  Thanks to Clay, I have plenty of canvas and bristol to last at least six months.  We’ve also shot high resolution photos of my 2011 works on canvas with his Cannon Ultrasonic.  The camera captured all the thick layered detail of the new paintings.  It was the first time I had used a camera of that caliber, so when I saw the huge picture files in photoshop, I flipped!

Clay selected a slew of new works on paper and bristol vellum to take back to the island.  We also boxed up a few of my 2011 works on canvas and had them shipped to St Thomas yesterday for an upcoming viewing.

If that wasn’t enough, Clay and I have  also been working out plans for a summer exhibit which will bring the works of some of my favorite contemporary artist from Canada, England, France, and Berlin to Seven Minus Seven.  More details to come.

Well, until next time,

ckirk

ckirkart.com

Leave a Reply

