Summer, Swimming, Charcoal Studies, & Smoking Pipe Tobacco

Hello all.

Since my last blog, I’ve been pretty busy while trying to stay out of the 100-plus degree Texas heat.  If I’m out, I’m generally at the pool with the family.  I have to  relocate at some point…the summers here absolutely kill me.  Due to the harsh temperature and my downstairs studio being without air conditioning, I have only been doing charcoal/chalk studies on paper upstairs in the comfort of my air conditioned apartment.  

A while back I  did a study of my pal Indigo.  Not only is she practically a beauty queen but also an amazing stencil artist.  I will be posting an interview on my blog with Indigo soon.  The Indigo drawing has had a very positive response online.  I may take it to the next level and do the portrait as an oil on canvas.  We’ll see what happens.

Also earlier this week I finally did a study drawing of my 11 month old son Luke.  A few people close to me have been encouraging me to do Luke’s portrait for a while now.  I’m glad I finally listened to my friends advice because  the drawing definitely won me points with my wife and entire family for that matter.  The study of my son seemed to make everyone happy.  I will laquer and frame Luke’s Portrait soon.  This one also will probably be done again as an oil on canvas. 

I’m pleased to announce that I am participating in art shows taking place in New York City and Boston.  New York was a pleasant surprise.  Originally the show was only scheduled for Boston, but after speaking with Art Asylum Boston, I  learned that the exhibit was being held in New York first.  I’ll post more information when I get it. 

As most folks know, I have smoked cigars for some time despite my wifes constant complaints of  the horrible smell that seemed to stick to every fiber of my being.  Anyway…A few months back I switched from cigars to smoking pipe tobacco.  I quickly became discouraged and put the pipe down for a few weeks.  I finally picked it up again and decided to give it another honest try.  When I decided to make the switch, I had no idea that pipe smoking was such an art form.  I am pleased to announce that after much  irritation, study, and  practice……I can finally load a good bowl and smoke it in its entirety without getting tongue bite!

knowledge is power when it comes to pipe smoking.  If you’re interested in picking up the passtime,  check out Eric’s videos on Youtube

Well..until next time,

ckirk

http://www.ckirkart.com/

2 thoughts on “Summer, Swimming, Charcoal Studies, & Smoking Pipe Tobacco

  1. I absolutely love your blog.. Excellent colors & theme. Did you develop this site yourself?

    Please reply back as I’m attempting to create my own personal website and would like to know where you got this from or just what the theme is called. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

