A Busy Boy.

Hello all,

Since my last blog entry, I have been extremely busy with day-to-day family  life as well as plenty of work related chores.   Fortunately for me, being a busy boy is a good thing.  I can’t stand to set idle for long periods.  Too much time with only my thoughts and no action always proves to be a miserable experience for me.  I’m not sure about many things in this world, but “Idle hands” being bad for my state of mind…. is a certainty.

Anyway, I shipped  “The Black Art Set” to M squared Gallery in Houston Texas for Neopopstreetfunk II last month.  Regretfully, I was unable to attend the event, but there were plenty of photos and video footage shot during the evening.  Tons of people were in attendance and the show appeared to be an overall good time.  Neopopstreetfunk II will be on display until July 10th, so if you’re going to be in the Houston area, please check it out.

In other news, the prize piece of my 2010 collection “Manone” was recently acquired by a gentleman in Houston Texas.     “Manone” was featured in the Houston Press for the paper’s write-up of Neopopstreetfunk II.  So a big thanks to Kevin and the Houston press for exposing my work to readers of the Houston Press and helping me make a sale.

Also this week, I shipped six selected pieces ranging in size to Massachusetts for an upcoming July exhibit at  Art Asylum Boston.  I am very excited about this event and have looked forward to working with the gallery for quite some time.  I’ll post more details about the show when I have them.

Despite the insanely HOT Texas weather and lack of air conditioning in my downstairs studio, I have managed to make some progress on one of two upcoming collaborations with UK-based artist George Morton Clark.  The piece is in oil and painted with thick brush strokes so….the paint will take a while to dry.  I’ll have to hold off on shipping the canvas for a bit….which means, I’ll probably continue making adjustments here and there.  I am excited to see what George will bring to the table on this one.  I absolutely love his art and the way he abstracts figures.   I am happy to be working with him.    

Last but certainly not least, I have a few new featured artist interviews coming up soon.  I really enjoy doing the interviews.  It’s great to be allowed to pick the brains of artists who I admire.  Stay tuned for upcoming interviews with Guy Denning, Jaybo MonkIndigo, and Jason Zenga, owner of Art Asylum Boston.

Until next time,

ckirk

http://www.ckirkart.com/

Leave a Reply

